Florida makes texting while driving a primary offense.
Florida lawmakers passed legislation 108-7 this session to make texting while driving a primary offense. Now signed into law by Gov. DeSantis, Florida will become the 44th state to enact the ban on July 1. Over the years, there has been growing support for the law with hundreds dying on our roads in texting-related crashes each year.
While law enforcement won't start issuing tickets until January, a first offense will be a $30.00 fine, and a second offense is $60.00. Court costs and fees would also apply. There will be exemptions for using the phone for other purposes, but starting October there will be a hands-free requirement while driving in school and work zones.